Banner for the Hollywood Critics Association fifth annual Film Awards event on February 28, 2022.

‘Dune: Part One’ Receives 10 Nominations for HCA Film Awards

Winners to be announced in February

Movie awards season, as well as its accompanying ‘For Your Consideration’ campaigns, are in full swing and Dune has been getting plenty of well-deserved attention from critics. Today, the Hollywood Critics Association (HCA) revealed the full list nominees for their 2022 Film Awards event. Dune: Part One was the most nominated movie this year, earning nods in a total of 10 categories—ahead of CODA and Belfast with nine each—including Best Picture and Denis Villeneuve for Best Director.

Winners will be announced at the 5th Annual HCA Film Awards on February 28, 2022. The venue and additional detail regarding the in-person ceremony will be announced at a later date. It will also be streamed live on the HCA’s official YouTube channel.

It’s great to see Dune: Part One receiving recognition across this wide range of categories, from Hans Zimmer’s otherworldly movie soundtrack to Patrice Vermette’s production design work in creating authentic and realistic settings. My only criticism on the selection—considering standout acting performances from Timothée Chalamet and Rebecca Ferguson, among others—is that there weren’t any nominations for individual cast members in those respective categories.

Following is the full breakdown of the 10 categories where Dune has been nominated:

Best Picture

  • Being the Ricardos
  • Belfast
  • CODA
  • Dune
  • King Richard
  • Last Night in Soho
  • Licorice Pizza
  • Spencer
  • The Power of The Dog
  • tick, tick…Boom!

Best Director

  • DuneDenis Villeneuve
  • Nightmare Alley – Guillermo del Toro
  • The Power of The Dog – Jane Campion
  • Belfast – Kenneth Branagh
  • tick, tick…BOOM! – Lin-Manuel Miranda
  • Spencer – Pablo Larraín
  • Passing – Rebecca Hall
  • King Richard – Reinaldo Marcus Green
  • CODA – Siân Heder
  • West Side Story – Steven Spielberg

Best Cinematography

  • The Green Knight – Andrew Droz Palermo
  • The Power of The Dog – Ari Wegner
  • Spencer – Claire Mathon
  • DuneGreig Fraser
  • West Side Story – Janusz Kamiński

Best Costume Design

  • DuneBob Morgan and Jacqueline West
  • Spencer – Jacqueline Durran
  • House of Gucci – Janty Yates
  • Cruella – Jenny Beavan
  • Last Night in Soho – Odile Dicks-Mireaux

Best Film Editing

  • tick, tick…BOOM! – Andrew Weisblum and Myron I. Kerstein
  • Dune – Joe Walker
  • King Richard – Pamela Martin
  • Last Night in Soho – Paul Machliss,
  • Belfast – Úna Ní Dhonghaíle,

Best Hair and Makeup

  • Being the Ricardos – Ana Lozano, David Craig Forrest, Kim Santantonio, Kyra Panchenko, Michael Ornelaz, Teressa Hill, and Yvonne DePatis Kupka
  • Cruella – Carolyn Cousins and Nadia Stacey
  • DuneDonald Mowat, Eva Von Bahr, and Love Larson
  • House of Gucci – Frederic Aspiras, Jana Carboni, Giuliano Mariano, Göran Lundström, and Sarah Nicole Tanno
  • The Eyes of Tammy Faye – Justin Raleigh, Linda Dowds, and Stephanie Ingram

Best Production Design

  • The French Dispatch – Adam Stockhausen
  • Spencer – Guy Hendrix Dyas,
  • Last Night in Soho – Marcus Rowland
  • Dune – Patrice Vermette
  • Nightmare Alley – Tamara Deverell

Best Score

  • The French Dispatch – Alexandre Desplat
  • Dune – Hans Zimmer
  • Spencer – Jonny Greenwood
  • The Power of The Dog – Jonny Greenwood
  • Last Night in Soho – Steven Price

Best Stunts

  • Black Widow
  • Dune
  • No Time to Die
  • Nobody
  • Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings

Best Visual Effects

  • Dune – Brian Connor, Gerd Nefzer, Paul Lambert, and Tristan Myles
  • Eternals – Daniele Bigi, Matt Aitken, Neil Corbould, and Stephane Ceretti
  • Free Guy – Bryan Grill, Dan Sudick, Nikos Kalaitzidis, and Swen Gillberg
  • Shang Chi And The Legend of Ten Rings – Christopher Townsend, Dan Oliver, Joe Farrell, and Sean Walker
  • The Suicide Squad – Dan Sudick, Guy Williams, Jonathan Fawkner, and Kelvin McIlwain

The full list of nominations, in other categories, are available in the HCA’s press release.

Update (December 28): The organization announced that date of of the ceremony has moved from January 8 to February 28, 2022, due to the rising number of COVID cases. The article has been revised to reflect this change.

About the Hollywood Critics Association

The HCA was created in 2016 and states that their organization’s goal is to represent the voices of a diverse group of online film critics from Hollywood and across the country. In addition to ensuring people from a variety of backgrounds are heard, they seek to bring visibility to those who leverage new media—such as podcasting and social media—for their work. Their annual film awards ceremony takes place each January.